WHO South-East Asia Region

  • Countries in the WHO South-East Asia Region:
The WHO South-East Asia Region is one of the six regions of the World Health Organization, covering a population of over 1.9 billion people. The region comprises 11 countries, namely Bangladesh, Bhutan, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Timor-Leste.

EH or Environmental Health is one of the core areas of work for WHO SEAR. The region has been actively working towards improving environmental health by ensuring access to clean water, sanitation, and hygiene. WHO SEAR has been collaborating with countries to develop and implement policies that promote sustainable environmental practices and mitigate air pollution – a critical contributor to respiratory diseases. Additionally, the region has been focusing on the management of hazardous chemicals and has been advocating for the safe and sustainable management of waste.

Apart from environmental health, WHO SEAR has been extensively working towards eliminating infectious diseases such as malaria, tuberculosis, and neglected tropical diseases. Furthermore, the region has been prioritizing the promotion of universal health coverage and access to quality health services for all, irrespective of their socio-economic status.

In conclusion, WHO SEAR has made tremendous progress in ensuring a healthier and sustainable environment for its population. However, the region still faces significant challenges, particularly in relation to infrastructure development, human resources, and funding. WHO SEAR is committed to working closely with its member states, partners, and stakeholders to achieve equitable access to quality health care services for all.