WHO Western Pacific Region


The WHO Western Pacific Region, also known as WHOWPR, is a division of the World Health Organization responsible for coordinating health efforts among 37 countries and areas. The region encompasses a vast and diverse area, spanning from China in the north to New Zealand in the south, and from Japan in the east to the Pitcairn Islands in the west.

The WHO Western Pacific Region is dedicated to improving public health outcomes through a range of initiatives and programs. These include tackling diseases like tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS, and malaria, as well as addressing non-communicable diseases such as cancer, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease. In addition, the region is also focused on promoting health equity, ensuring access to essential health services, and strengthening health systems and infrastructure.

Among the countries and areas included in the WHOWPR are Australia, Cambodia, China, Fiji, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, and the Philippines, among many others. Together, these countries and areas make up a rich and diverse landscape with a wide range of health challenges and opportunities.

By working collaboratively and leveraging the expertise of health professionals and organizations across the region, the WHO Western Pacific Region is making significant strides towards improving health outcomes for all of its residents. Through initiatives as varied as health education and awareness campaigns, vaccination programs, and emergency response efforts, the region is demonstrating a deep commitment to public health and to ensuring that all people have access to the care and support they need to thrive.